Speechless

I have discovered that it’s always a million times easier for me to write when I’m supposed to be writing something else, like a ten page paper for nursing, or a two page summery of an impossibly long and dense theology book that gives me aneurysms and ah-hah moments simultaneously. Anyhow.  I read this passage of Scripture with some of my people this week,  and we were all left pretty much without words when we read this together. The only thing it could collectively draw from us was an “amen”. Well, besides my imitation of a Baptist preacher. We all know how I aspire to be Beth Moore . I have a deep and abiding love for Southern lady preachers. I just adore the way they can invoke “amens” and “uh-huhs” from everyone who listens to them. I’m going to attempt to bring a little good old Baptist into this little post, because some passages of Scripture just require more “amens” and halleluiahs than others.

May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all patience and joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light… He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together. And he is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in everything he might be preeminent. For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross. (Colossians 1:11-12,15-20, ESV)

Can I get an amen?  I’m not a Biblical scholar, or an expert in interpretation or ancient languages or exegetical reasoning. I’m not a Southern Lady preacher, try as I might to tease my hair all big and add a few y’all’s in my vocabulary. I’m a twenty-something sitting in a Californian coffee shop with my Bible spread as wide open as the November sky, marveling at how words written thousands of years ago can steal my breath away today. I believe in the importance of reading Scripture  in the context community, because these words were letters written to communities. We see and understand the greater picture in light of each other. But this moment right here? There is some sort of Holy intimacy created when my bibliophile self can sit in silence and be moved by ancient vocabulary. There are theological concepts and deep debates rooted in this text, of which I could spend hours analyzing and working through. But I choose instead to  sit in silence and let these words seep into the deep cracks of my soul, I let the text read me. My original intention with this post was to elaborate on this text, to flesh it out in terms of how I have understood it as it has worked through my life this week. But I sit here, breathless in light of  holy and sacred words, incapable to explain just what they are.

Amen? Amen. Have a beautiful week, my friends. Eat some pie. Because it’s the most important thing besides education. And family.*

Later Days,

Jess

*obscure Gilmore Girls reference. See video for further explanation.

One thought on “Speechless

Leave a Reply

